External Advisory Committee

The EAC is the major oversight entity and is composed of senior scientists who are experts in administration and whose scientific expertise encompasses the thematic areas of K-INBRE. This Committee 1) works with the Network Steering Committee and its Executive Committee to identify administrative and scientific strengths and weaknesses of the program to offer remedial measures; 2) oversees the progress of the Cores and DRPP awardees; and 3) assesses the overall impact of the K-INBRE on biomedical research in the State of Kansas.

External Advisory Committee Contacts


Sally A. Camper, Ph.D.


Margery Shaw Distinguished University Professor
Department of Human Genetics
University of Michigan Medical School

1500 West Medical Center Drive, 4301 MSRB III
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-0638
Phone: 734-763-0682
[email protected]




V. Gustavo Blanco, MD, Ph.D.

Mentoring Core Director

Chair and Professor
Department of Cell Biology & Physiology
University of Kansas Medical Center

Mail Stop 3043, 3901 Rainbow Blvd.
Kansas City, KS 66160
Phone: 913-588-7405
[email protected]




Justin Blumenstiel, Ph.D.

Committee Member

Associate Professor
Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
University of Kansas

7026 Haworth Hall, 1200 Sunnyside Ave
Lawrence, KS 66045-7566
Phone: 785-864-3915
[email protected]




George Bousfield, Ph.D.

Committee Member

Lawrence M. Jones Distinguished Professor
Protein Chemistry Core Laboratory Director
Wichita State University

431 Hubbard Hall, Box 26
Wichita, KS 67260
Phone: 316-978-6088
[email protected]




Christine Brodsky, Ph.D.

PSU Campus Coordinator

Associate Professor
Department of Biology
Pittsburg State University

1701 S Broadway
Pittsburg, KS 66762
Phone: 620-235-4947
[email protected]




Tim Burnett, Ph.D.

Udergraduate Office Director & ESU Campus Coordinator

Chair & Associate Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
Emporia State University

1200 Commercial St., Campus Box 4050
Emporia, KS 66801
Phone: 620-341-5910
[email protected]




Robert Unkless, Ph.D.

Committee Member

Associate Professor
Director of the KU Center for Genomics
University of Kansas

4055 Haworth Hall, 1200 Sunnyside Ave
Lawrence, KS 66045
Phone: 785-864-1679
[email protected]




Leanne Wiedemann, Ph.D.

Committee Member

Staff Scientist
Stowers Institute for Medical Research

1000 East 50th Street
Kansas City, MO 64110
Phone: 816-926-4052
[email protected]




Douglas E. (Doug) Wright, PhD

Principal Investigator

Professor & Vice Chair of Research
Department of Anesthesiology
University of Kansas Medical Center

Mail Stop 3038, 3901 Rainbow Blvd.
Kansas City, KS 66160
Phone: 913-588-2713
Fax: 913-588-5677
[email protected]




Anna Zolkiewska, Ph.D.

Committee Member

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics
Kansas State University

177 Chalmers Hall
1711 Claflin Rd.
Manhattan, KS 66506
Phone: 785-532-3082
[email protected]